As you may know, the way the MOT test works will be changing on 20 May 2018, only 5 days away!

This post is here to show some of the major changes you need to know about. It is not an exhaustive list of all the changes, but just some points you should know.

Defect Categories

During an MOT, any defects you find will now be categorised as Minor, Major or Dangerous. You must record all of these defects.

So what does each item mean? 

Inspection Manual 

As of the 20 May, the new Inspection Manual will take effect, and the old one will be invalid.

What is changing? 

Quite a lot! The layout has changed to portrait instead of landscape, there are more sections that have been added and the order has been changed. The new layout is easier to understand and flows better, so once you have got the hang of it, you will find it more simple to navigate.

The Manual contains new, changed and removed defects and checks; and improved information.

The new test items that are being introduced include:

Brake fluid contamination, Additional braking device performance, Daytime running lamps, Front fog lamps, Reversing lamps, Bumpers, Prop shafts, All rear drive shafts, Cab security, Cab steps, Floors, Passenger hand grips, Noise suppression material, Undertray security, Emission control equipment, Engine malfunction indicator lamp, Diesel particulate filter tampering, Fluid leaks.

There are some defects in the current manual that result in a MOT test fail, but in the new manual will only be classed as a ‘minor’. Some of these include:

  • Brake fluid level below minimum mark
  • Brake fluid warning lamp illuminated or inoperative
  • Power steering fluid below minimum mark
  • Trailer electrical socket insecure
  • Direction indicator flashing rate
  • One of two registration plate lamps missing or inoperative
  • Several audible warning defects
  • Some ‘insecure’ items but not likely to become detached

For a list of the individual section changes, visit the DVSA MOT changes guidance HERE

Vehicle Categories

Diesel Vehicle Emission Limits

There will be harsher limits for emissions for those with a diesel particulate filter (DPF) from the 20 May.

For newer vehicles the, default limit is as follows:

Vehicle first used Type Value
1. First used before July 2008 Non-turbo 2.5m-1 or plate value if lower
Turbo 3.0m-1 or plate value if lower
2. First used on or after 1 July 2008 All diesels 1.5m-1 or plate value if lower
3. First used on or after 1 January 2014 All diesels 0.7m-1 or plate value if lower

There is much more that has changed on the Manual, for further information view the DVSA guidance 

Click here to view the completed manual for private passenger and light commercial vehicles

Click here to view the completed manual for motorcycles and side cars