Become an MOT Tester with Premier MOT Training

Get your MOT License in as little as 8 weeks!

From 1 April 2022, some MOT testers will need to provide a basic disclosure certificate (also known as a DBS check) before they can carry out a demonstration test.

This change will apply to:

Newly qualified MOT testers

suspended MOT testers (2 or 5 years) who want to return to testing
MOT testers who have not carried out an MOT test in the last 5 years
The disclosure check must be dated within 3 months of your DVSA demonstration test. For example, a certificate dated 21 February 2022 would not be acceptable for a demonstration test booked for 30 May 2022.

To gain your MOT License, you'll firstly have to meet the eligibility criteria set by the DVSA as well as pass a recognised level 3 pre-entry qualification. Next you will have to pass the Award in MOT Testing and then finally pass a VT8 demo MOT test observed by the DVSA.

After you have qualified you will then need to complete the MOT annual training and pass an annual assessment every year to maintain your testing status.

There are four main steps to become an MOT Tester:

Step 1

Pass a Level 3 Pre-Entry Accreditation recognised by DVSA

Step 2

Pass the Level 2 Award in MOT Testing Certificate

Step 3

Pass the DVSA VT8 Observation at a Premier MOT Training Site

Step 4

Once you have qualified, you'll need to do your Annual Training and pass an Annual Assessment each year

Contact us today!

Please contact us for all your automotive training and consultancy requirements.
Speak to our team

0345 459 0231

Our phone lines are open Monday to Friday.